Lent 2013 – day 7

19 Feb

Psalm 139:19-22
If only you would slay the wicked, O God! Away from me, you bloodthirsty men! They speak of you with evil intent; your adversaries misuse your name. Do I not hate those who hate you, O Lord, and abhor those who rise up against you? I have nothing but hatred for them; I count them my enemies.

The resounding cry of many a human mind when seeking to remain pure in the face of evil and temptation:
“Why don’t you get rid of it all, God? You know I don’t like it, don’t want to see it and be tempted so why do You let it remain?”

Sometimes it even comes during the act of sinning:
“Why aren’t You stopping me? Why didn’t You give me the strength to stop before I start? You know I don’t want to do this, so why are You letting it happen?”

It is an interesting conundrum in life as to why sin exists. I remember the first time I asked the question “Why did God make the tree [of the knowledge of good and evil]?” Whilst that is now a relatively easy one to answer (it’s linked to free will and the fact that without it Adam and Eve would have had none) the question of why God lets us sin, even after we have become a new creation through faith in Jesus, remains a puzzle.
In 1 Corinthians 10:13 it says this:
No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.
And yet we still sin. Does this mean God hasn’t given us the strength or that we don’t know how to use it? Has God failed to provide a way out or do we simply fail to see it?

Search me, O God, and know my heart;test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me,and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

