Lent 2013 – day 8

20 Feb

Psalm 139:1-4
O Lord, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord.

Ok, first day of repeating the reading. It felt a bit weird at first, as I don’t usually return to a passage in this way when I read he Bible.
However, something jumped out at me which is quite cool, which is what I am going to write about.

And to start I am going to use The Voice translation (no Tom Jones jokes, please!) for verse 3 and the first half of verse 4:
You observe my wanderings and my sleeping, my waking and my dreaming, and You know everything I do in more detail than even I know. You know what I’m going to say long before I say it.

On Sunday I spoke at church about God’s desire for a deep relationship with us and then last night, at Bible study, how that shows that God loves us. But I don’t think we ever truly “get” God’s love, never truly understand it. As I have written about last week, we can linguistically comprehend certain things about God and yet never fully comprehend what this means practically because we can only think within the limits of our mind. But what these 2 verses show us is that God knows us better than we know ourselves and what we are going to do before we do it, and in spite of knowing all this God still loves us!!!

We can understand the meanings of the words written by David, that it means that God knows everything we think, say and do and knows all of this from before we were born. We can understand it in terms of the meanings if the words, but I don’t think we can ever know it to the point where it is as natural to us as breathing.

As humans we are prone to keeping things from people. Even within marriage husbands and wives will keep things from each other. Not necessarily intentionally (sometimes people just forget things) and not necessarily important things, but not everything will be shared. It is even more the case in relationships where there is no marital bond. We naturally tend towards being secretive and insular with our thoughts and actions.

Yet here, in this passage, we see that God strips away all the layers we might seek to hide behind and sees us for who we really are, warts and all. His view of us is the real us. The good, the bad and the downright ugly! And yet His love and desire for deep relationship remains as strong as ever. It is amazing, it is awesome and it is, to quote a somewhat infamous kids worship song, “beyond my wildest dreams”!
“How wonderful to be a part of God’s amazing plan!”

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

