Lent 2013 – day 12

24 Feb

Psalm 139:13-16
For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

As we draw closer to Easter, we start to think about what happened to Jesus all those years ago. And, particularly in Church services, we will do so by singing songs about it. One of the best songs, for me, that talks about the first Easter is “In Christ Alone” by Stuart Townend and Keith Getty. In particular, the second half of the second verse speaks of what happened on the cross:
Till on that cross as Jesus died,
The wrath of God was satisfied –
For every sin on Him was laid;
Here in the death of Christ I live.

These words not only relate to the story in the gospels, but also to a prophesy by Isaiah about the Messiah:
Isaiah 53:6
We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all.

In both the song and Isaiah we read that all our sin was put on Christ on the cross. Every thing that we have done and will do that goes against God goes on to Jesus on that cross 2000 years ago. And this brings me back to the Psalm, in particular verse 16 where it says:
All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

So, before the world was created God knew what people were going to be like. He knew that we would sin and break faith with Him. He knows just how much sin is still yet to occur. And yet all of this He chose to bear on the Cross. The Father knew about every sin that would ever be committed, and He put it upon Jesus on the cross. Jesus knew as well and yet willingly still became human and still went to the cross for us.
It is a truly humbling thought to realise that God willingly suffered in the person of Jesus, knowing exactly how much it would hurt, by dying on the cross. I mean, He is God! He could have created us to be better. But He didn’t. He created us the way that we are, and we are “fearfully and wonderfully made”, and still willing came to die so that we might be with Him.

And it is because of this that we remember at Easter that Jesus’ death on the cross is not a moment in history, but for all time and all people. And it is also a challenge to “go and sin no more”, for every sin is still being laid on Jesus on that cross. And so my prayer at the end is even more pertinent.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

One Response to “Lent 2013 – day 12”

  1. Paul Brownnutt February 27, 2013 at 08:35 #

    Thanks for this! I was reflecting this morning on the mind- boggling claim that the kingdom of heaven belongs to the poor in spirit (a category into which honesty compels me to place myself unhesitatingly) and this blog post follows that up beautifully.

    On a more serious note, if ever nominations are opened for additions to the canon of scripture, can ” In Christ Alone” be at the top of the list? Just thinking out loud here…

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

