Lent 2013 – day 13

25 Feb

Psalm 139:17-18
How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand. When I awake, I am still with you.

There’s definitely something to be said for Bible commentaries. When I started reading these verses again I was struck again by how bizarre the last sentence of 18 reads and how the rest talks about the omniscience of God, which I have already written a fair bit about.
But then I went to a Bible website (http://www.biblestudytools.com) and had a look at their Psalms commentary, Treasury of David.
Here’s the link to what it says about verse 17.

The thing I want to focus on from here is the idea of how these verses show that God is a truly intimate and personal God. Because it asks the question, why are there so many thoughts? The reason God has so many thought is because He has so many things to think about. And we are all in there! God thinks about each and every one of us, whether we believe in Him or not. He has done so forever before the beginning of history and will do so forever after it too. And there is not one human that has ever existed who God has not thought about.

To put that in perspective, there are around 7 billion people alive now. Scientists have made a guess, based on what they have observed, that this is about 6.5% of the number of humans that have ever existed (this is unlikely to include miscarriages and abortions and possibly not even child deaths through history) which suggests that there have been over 100 billion people, each if whom God thinks about. And in amongst all those thoughts He is thinking about you and me and what we are going to do today!
God is not just personal, He is omnipersonal!!!

Search me, O God, and know my heart;test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me,and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

