Lent 2013 – day 19

3 Mar

Psalm 139:13-16
For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

The Voice translation puts verses 13 and 14 like this:
For You shaped me, inside and out. You knitted me together in my mother’s womb long before I took my first breath. I will offer You my grateful heart, for I am Your unique creation, filled with wonder and awe. You have approached even the smallest details with excellence; Your works are wonderful; I carry this knowledge deep within my soul.

Now, David may be talking about his own creation, but his words are universally true. Regardless of how you may believe it happens, whether God created everything in the beginning and then left the processes to work themselves out or is intimately involved in everything as it is created throughout time or some way in between, God made us all. Not only that, but God made us all after knowing that we would all exist. Whichever way you believe creation happened, God knew.

So, not only is God a master craftsman, but He is the ultimate planner. He hasn’t planned for every eventuality, He has planned for what IS going to happen.

Now, when humans make things they get praised for their skill and then paid not inconsiderable sums of money for their work. They are lauded for their efforts and put on pedestals. And this is David’s response to God’s creation. But how do we respond today? So often we abuse God’s creation. We kill unborn babies for reasons other than saving the life of the mother. We consider altering God’s design in the womb for aesthetic reasons. We cause harm to our bodies by not looking after it. We kill people. We let others waste away. In so many ways we reject the way our Creator has made the world. And yet if we were to do so to an artist we would be lambasted as barbarians, uncultured idiots and philistines. We would be made to repair or replace any damages to things not our own. We would be be told we were wrecking the culture of the world if we stopped artists from seeing their creations made. So why do we do all this to the most amazing artist, the most technically gifted craftsman and the most intelligent designer (apologies for the pun!) there is?

Search me, God, and know my heart;test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me,and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

