Lent 2013 – day 22

6 Mar

Psalm 139:1-4
O Lord, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord.

“You can’t kid a kidder!” A well used phrase to point out that a lie/joke/con has been spotted, usually by someone who knows (or at least claims to know) a”all the tricks in the book”. And the same could be said by God. God is no “kidder” but He certainly knows all the tricks in the book. Not because He has ever done them but because of His knowledge of everything that has ever happened and all that will ever happen.

I have often been asked, when people are trying to find out if God has any limits or if they can catch me out about God, “What if I decide to do something in my head but then do something else?” the inference being that they might catch God out and He wouldn’t be prepared for what they do. However, verse 4 points very clearly to this not being possible. Indeed, it is made even clear by 2 alternate translations:

Lexham English Bible
For there is not a word yet on my tongue, but behold, O Yahweh, you know it completely.

Easy-to-Read Version
LORD, you know what I want to say, even before the words leave my mouth.

In the Lexham translation it makes very clear there can be no preparation for saying anything and God already knows what we will say. And in the ERV we see that it is also our intentions that God knows. God knows all for 2 very clear reasons, as I have mentioned before. The first is He knows us better than we know ourselves, right down to the elements and molecules that form the dust we come from. The second is that He exists outside of time and so knows through being able to see tomorrow happening at the same time as we are experiencing today.

And so it is impossible to trick God, for he is omniscient, omnipotent and omnipresent. Though, far more importantly, we are reminded that we are not to test God (Deuteronomy 6:16 and Matthew 4:7).

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

