Lent 2013 – Day 25

9 Mar

Psalm 139:11-12

If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you.

Last week I wrote about the darkness we are drawn to and how we are called to be children of light. The funny thing is that sometimes what seems like something completely innocent can often be the start of a dark path.

Take today, for example. I went to bed late on Friday after finishing work late and I just needed to unwind. But I still needed to get up early enough today to sort out a session at 9:30. Because I went to bed late I struggled to wake up early and this meant that I didn’t do my morning Bible meditation. When I got back I had breakfast and did some work, completely forgetting what I had said to myself before leaving the house, that I would do my meditation when I got back. I had to return to do the packing away after the session, and again forgot to do my meditation when I got back. Then the 6 Nations rugby was on, and being a loyal Welsh rugby fan I watched Wales beat Scotland and enjoyed the game. I made myself lunch, still forgetting my meditation, and then watched the second 6 Nations match, before doing some other bits and pieces. I have dinner, whilst watching a film and then I remember about my meditation, and so here I am doing it near the end of the day.

They say the road to hell is paved with good intentions and it’s amazing how many times we might have good intentions to do something and they all fall apart as life gets in the way. Sometimes it is that we let stuff get in the way by accident. Sometimes it is because we are trying to do life our own way rather than letting God’s way be our way. This is not to say that watching rugby or a film is bad (if there is any spectator sport in Heaven I am sure it will be Rugby Union with both teams being Welsh!), just as doing work is clearly not bad. But it’s about our priorities and who we put first.

The Christian band, DC Talk, did a song called “In The Light“. In it the opening verse says this:

I keep trying to find a life
On my own, apart from you
I am the king of excuses
I’ve got one for every selfish thing I do

The idea seems to be that we just keep on looking to live our lives apart from God, because we think we know what’s best for us. We can come up with some amazing excuses as to why we do what we do, but at the end of it all we are simply looking to satisfy our own needs, rather than letting God satisfy them. But the chorus of the song cries out the heart of all who love Jesus:

I wanna be in the light
As you are in the light
I wanna shine like the stars in the heavens
Oh, lord be my light and be my salvation
Cause all I want is to be in the light
All I want is to be in the light

Being light is hard at the best of times. Being light at the worst of times can feel impossible. But the whole point is that we are not doing it on our own. Just as it says in the poem “Footprints In The Sand“, God walks with us throughout our lives. We need to remember that He is there and trust in Him because it is through faith that we are saved and through that faith we shine in the darkness.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

