Lent 2013 – day 29

13 Mar

Psalm 139:1-4
O Lord, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord.

Who knows you best? Is it you husband or wife? Is it your parents? How about your children? Maybe your brother or sister? How about your best friend?
And how do you judge that they know you the best? Is it because they know when you are upset? Can the work out when things might be getting you down? Or maybe they are great at knowing what makes you happy? Perhaps they are always spot on with getting you something you really enjoy for your birthday?

In verse 3 David writes about God being “familiar with all my ways”. God knows what makes us tick and how we react to things. And He is more than a friend, more than a partner or spouse. Delirious wrote a song called “What a friend I’ve found” and here is how the lyrics describe Jesus:
What a friend I’ve found
Closer than a brother
I have felt your touch
More intimate than lovers

What a hope I’ve found
More faithful than a mother

Closer than a brother, more intimate than a lover and more faithful than a mother.
And it goes on:
Jesus, Jesus
Jesus, friend forever

Jesus isn’t a friend for a a brief period of time, or even an extended period of time. Jesus is a friend forever, closer to us than anyone else and knowing us better than anyone else. And so intimate that He sent the Holy Spirit to live inside us. You can’t get closer than that!

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

