Lent 2013 – day 33

17 Mar

Psalm 139:13-16
For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

A I read these verses I am struck by the idea of how much planning has gone in to our creation. I have already commented on the fact that God planned for the Cross to happen before the world was created. But this passage also points to how each of us was known to God and lovingly formed before creation. The Amplified Bible puts verse 15 like this:
My frame was not hidden from You when I was being formed in secret and intricately and curiously wrought as if embroidered with various colors in the depths of the earth a region of darkness and mystery.

It speaks of being created intricately in secret, in a “region of darkness and mystery”, which makes me think of when inventors and creators go into their shed/workshop and are there for days while they finish their masterpiece. And that’s what we are, God’s masterpiece. He poured out His love into the creation of each one of us and has lavished us with gifts in the form of skills and abilities. He is like the sculptor who takes hours looking at his statue before gently using his chisel and hammer to perfect the outcome.
And all the time this planning and forming is taking place, the universe is still yet to exist. We are not only a masterpiece, but a centrepiece. Amazingly created and then placed perfectly within God’s universe, created for us to live the life God has planned for us. The care and attention given in all this is more than my mind can take!

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

