Lent 2013 – day 34

18 Mar

Psalm 139:17-18
How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand. When I awake, I am still with you.

How precious are God’s thoughts to us? Today I really do wonder!

Today, on Twitter, I saw a link to a web page with the story that Rob Bell is in favour of gay marriage. This comes very soon after Steve Chalke did the same and it has made me wonder when did the evangelical world, the group that are supposed to take what God says in the Bible seriously, star holding God’s spoken thoughts on life so lightly?

God speaks to us about His thoughts on many things in the Bible. We [should] trust that, being an omnipotent and all-seeing being (as mentioned a lot in my blogs this lent), God would both know if the humans that wrote it down got it wrong and fix it so it was right, and yet we seem ever eager to change what the words plainly say for our own ends.

David knows how precious God’s thoughts are, he says so in verse 17. He knows that they are from a God who is everywhere (verses 7-10) and therefore sees and knows everything (verse 2). He knows that God is in control (verses 13-16) and that God can fix all that is wrong if He chose to (verse 19). David recognises God’s sovereignty in the world. If God is the same now as then, why can’t we do the same 3000 years after David?

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

One Response to “Lent 2013 – day 34”

  1. Helen March 18, 2013 at 08:50 #

    I have struggled this morning to remember that God’s thoughts are as precious as they were on Sunday. Thank God He is omnipotent and will remain precious to me.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

