Lent 2013 – day 36

20 Mar

I have spent the last 5 weeks looking at the first 22 verses of this Psalm. I am now going to spend the last 5 days before Palm Sunday, which marks the end of my Lent meditations for this year, focussing on the final 2, which have been the prayer at the end of my meditations.

Psalm 139:23-24
Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

David asks God to search him and know his heart. As I have already commented on in the previous weeks, David knew that God knows everything, so already knew his heart. So why did he say this?

I believe that what David was doing was actually joining in with God. He was opening himself up, willingly, so as to say that he welcomed God having intimate knowledge of him. And in this David is showing us how a relationship with God should be. Of course God knows everything about us, as I have noted earlier in Lent He knows it before our conception. But if we willingly accept and welcome it we are becoming a participant in relationship with God.

It is the same with prayer. Despite God knowing everything that is going on in our lives and the lives of the people around us He still wants us to speak to Him. It is about a relationship and being an active part of it. Prayer is also not just an action, but it is a reaction. God not only wants to hear us speak to Him, He wants us to listen as He speaks to us!

Relationship is 2 way, even with an omniscient being such as God, because relationship is about a connectedness between individuals. If we don’t do our bit to connect, our side of the relationship suffers.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

