Lent 2013 – day 38

22 Mar

Psalm 139:23-24
Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Over the last few days I have been doing Easter assemblies in my local secondary school with Dave, my vicar. One of the things that Dave has asked the students during the assemblies is whether any of them think they have never done anything wrong. Pretty much everyone admitted that they had done something wrong in their lives straight away, with the few who were claiming perfection soon admitting, when questioned, that they too had done something wrong at some point in their lives.

Obviously in the assemblies the point has been to explain about Jesus being a perfect sacrifice on the Cross, but in life we can often either forget some of the wrong things that we do or simply not realise that they are wrong. But it is good to be aware of and remember what we do wrong. And this is what David means when he says “See if there is any offensive way in me” in verse 24.

When we know the ways in which we are offensive to God, we can try to change them and ask God to help us. When we know the things that we do wrong we can ask God to help us not to get into situations where we may do them again. And, most importantly, when we recognise that we are not perfect and that we fall short of God’s glory we realise that we are only able to be who God calls us to be through His power. Because it is only through acknowledging our weakness and surrendering to God that we become strong. And that strength enables us to change.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

