Lent 2013 – day 40

24 Mar

Psalm 139:23-24
Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

And so. This is the final day of lent. 40 days of meditation on Psalm 139. And, truth be told, I think I will miss reading these verses. They have been interesting, inspiring, thought provoking, insightful, challenging and much more besides. But these last 2 verses have struck me the most these last 6 weeks. It is the simple statement of devotion to God that comes from them. It is something to which I aspire.
To be willing to say to God “Point out my flaws and show me how to do better” and fully mean it is not easy. It means being completely open to Him and allowing yourself to be put on display and shown back to you. It means becoming conscious of every failing and then changing.

Change is not easy for humans. It can be easier for some than others, but there are always things that every individual will struggle with changing. It could be a particular habit, a particular way of doing things or even a way of thinking. Whatever it is, if it is ungodly then it must be brought into focus, recognised for what it is and changed. It can be painful, a struggle and costly, but it will definitely improve your relationship with God.

I am experiencing this myself right now. Before the start of lent I struggled to regularly read my Bible. I was always finding it hard to set aside time in the day. But I was challenged to do it for lent and I am now going to be continuing it beyond. And, coming out the other side, I feel joy and excitement at what has happened.
And the great thing is that you don’t have to wait for lent next year to make a change in your life. God is the same yesterday, today and forever. He is always there to help and support us, challenge and shape us. All we have to do is ask.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.
Amen!

Leave a Reply

Archbishop Cranmer

Musings, rants and mumblings about stuff. Some of it might actually make sense!

The days

Lover of life, Jesus, dogs, R&B and hiphop, dancing, travelling and exploration. Roamer, foodie, servant of God, reading geek, type one diabetic, singer, Greek mythology enthusiast. Peace-keeper, light-giver, student nurse, elderly carer, baby obsessed, vegetarian.

little happenings

my little wonderments that make a bigger picture

broken cameras & gustav klimt

Danny Webster's adventure in faith and failure

chriskidd.co.uk

children's & youth ministry // faith // sport // youth culture

Ray Skudder

Random Thoughts About Many Things!!!

Talkingoutofyourbott's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Jeremy Fletcher's Blog

Heathside musings

